History Audio Books to Download

| V-Chip.Org | Audio Books Home | Fiction Audio Books | Children's Audio Books | Language Audio Books | Tv and Film Audio Books | Radio Audio Books | Self-Help Audio Books| Arts & Drama Audio Books | Biography Audio Books | Business Audio Books | Crime and Thrillers Audio Books | Health and Recreation Audio Books | Histoy Audio Books |

| 20th Century | 21st Century | American | Ancient | Biographical | British | Military | Miscellaneous | Music Related | Pre 1900 | Social and Economic | World |
  FREE Audio Books - Courtesy of the audiobookquest.com

Download Audio Books from our partner company Talking Bookstore


WWW v-chip


Crack in the Edge of the World, A (Abridged)
Play Windows Media Sample  Play Real Sample

Crack in the Edge of the World, A (Abridged)

Author : Simon Winchester
Narrated By : Simon Winchester
Publisher : Harper Collins US
Duration : 7 hours
Type : American
20th Century
Social & Economic
Price : $29.95 $19.95
Buy Now!
The international bestselling author of The Professor and the Madman and Krakatoa vividly brings to life the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake that leveled a city symbolic of Americas relentless western expansion. Simon Winchester has also fashioned an enthralling and informative look at the tumultuous subterranean world that produces earthquakes, the planet's most sudden and destructive force.

In the early morning hours of April 18, 1906, San Francisco and a string of other towns were overcome by an earthquake registering 8.25 on the Richter scale, resulting from a rupture in the San Andreas fault. Lasting little more than a minute, the earthquake wrecked 490 blocks, toppled a total of 25, 000 buildings, broke open gas mains, cut off electric power lines, and effectively destroyed the gold rush capital that had stood there for a half century.

Winchester brings his inimitable storytelling abilities—as well as his unique understanding of geology—to this extraordinary event, exploring not only what happened in northern California in 1906 but what we have learned since about the geological underpinnings that caused the earthquake in the first place. A Crack in the Edge of the World is the definitive account of the San Francisco earthquake and a fascinating exploration of a legendary event that changed the way we look at the planet on which we live.

Simon Winchester has been a globe-trotting correspondent. Trained at Oxford as a geologist, he is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Krakatoa, The Map That Changed the World, and The Professor and the Madman.

Other titles you may be interested in

Great Speeches

Great Speeches

Author : Various
Narrated By : Churchill, Luther King Jr, Kennedy, Roosevelt etc
Publisher : Harper Collins UK
Duration : 1 hour 30 minutes
Type : 20th Century
Price : $9.99
These speeches span the years 1940 – 1987.Among others listen to Winston Churchill’s First Radio Address As Prime Minister, John F Kennedy’s Inaugural Address and Richard Nixon’s Resignation speech. View...


Author : Stephen E. Ambrose
Narrated By : Stephen E. Ambrose
Publisher : Simon & Schuster
Duration : 6 hours
Type : American
20th Century
21st Century
Price : $32.00 $15.95
They wanted to be throwing baseballs, not hand grenades, shooting .22s at rabbits... View...
An Unfinished Life

An Unfinished Life

Author : Robert Dallek
Narrated By : Richard McGonagle
Publisher : Hachette Audio
Duration : 9 hours
Type : Historical
Royalty and Heads of State
20th Century
Price : $42.98 $30.25
The first single-volume life of John F. Kennedy to be written in nearly four decades. View...
History of Britain - The Fate of Empire 1776-2000

History of Britain - The Fate of Empire 1776-2000

Author : Simon Schama
Narrated By : Timothy West
Publisher : BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Duration : 10 hours 55 minutes
Type : British
Pre 1900
20th Century
Price : $38.49
Winner of a Bronze Award at the Spoken Word Awards 2003 Award-winning historian Simon Schama completes his monumental three-volume history of Britain, which accompanies the acclaimed... View...
Sceptred Isle: Twentieth Century - 1901-1919, This

Sceptred Isle: Twentieth Century - 1901-1919, This

Author : Christopher Lee
Narrated By : Anna Massey and Robert Powell
Publisher : BBC Audiobooks Ltd
Duration : 3 hours
Type : Non Fiction
20th Century
Price : $21.75
Continuing the award winning BBC radio 4 series of the story of Britain, from the start of the Twentieth Century to the present day View...
Have you always loved reading but sometimes find it hard to find the time? Theres nothing quite like curling up with a good book but many of us cannot do that as much as we would llike. We sacrifice this special time because we have so many other things to do each day. It is a common problem and it is the reason why people on average are not reading as much as they once did. Audio books bring the story to life just as the storytellers of the past did. They allow you to experience the book in a whole new way; in the way the writer felt and heard it in their head. You can feel the emotion when you allow audio books to let the story come to life.